A Prayer of Praise

Inspired by my study of Isaiah 7:1-9:7 and my current struggles with pride and lack of trust.

If you do not stand firm in your faith,
you will not stand at all. ~ Isaiah 7:9b

The Lord Almighty is the one you are to regard as holy,
he is the one you are to fear,
he is the one you are to dread,
and he will be a sanctuary… ~ Isaiah 8:13-14a

O God, I am ashamed of my fear and unbelief.

How can I be afraid?

You are with your people,
more now than ever before.

How can I lack faith?

Your promises are always kept,
and even my life shows it.

O God, thank you for your act of self-sacrifice.

How can I be proud?

Your saving work is yours alone;
Your call to me effectual and sure.

How can I be anxious?

You saved my soul from eternal death;
You equip me to do your will.

O God, you are holy, beyond all praising.

How can I exalt you enough?

Your Son and Spirit exalt you,
transforming my inadequacy into exquisite melody.

2 thoughts on “A Prayer of Praise

  1. I agree – that’s one of the most powerful connections in this section of Isaiah. I’m working through a study written by Kathleen Nielson, “Isaiah: The Lord Saves.” It is one of the most well-written studies I’ve ever worked through, with questions that dig into the text from multiple angles and bring the text home to my heart and life.

Leave a Reply

